Saturday, 9 December 2017

My Go To Winter Face

Hi there,

If you didn't already know then Winter is my favourite time of the year. And makeup is one of my favourite hobbies. So Winter + Makeup = something I like an awful lot.

So here is a summary of my all time favourite products to use during the most wonderful time of the year. I've linked the websites to all of them where you can have a little browse for yourself if you like: 


 

Thank you very much for watching. What is your go to "Winter face"? Let me know in the comments,

Izzy K xxx

Saturday, 18 November 2017

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer

When you say "highlighter" the Mary-Lou Manizer by The Balm is often the first one that jumps to mind to many people, since it's such a hyped product. This retails for £19.99 at Superdrug, so as far as drugstore products go it's definitely on the high end side. But is it worth the price?





The first thing I want to talk about this product is the packaging. How adorable is it? The Balm's packaging always has some sort of "vintage" vibe to it, with each product coming with it's own little character on it. This highlighter has a sticker of a woman who presumably is Mary Lou herself, on the lid, making it stand out from other products in the drugstore.

And the packaging itself is of great quality. Since I suffer with an extreme case of butter fingers, I have dropped this highlighter one too many times. And do you know what happens? Nothing! Not to jinx it, but it seems to be pretty shatter resistant. And my favourite part of the packaging is that there is a high quality compact mirror on the inside of the lid, making it perfect for travel. 

As far as pigmentation goes, this product gives you a more natural look. The colour of the powder is a beigey-nude with gold undertones, and of course glitter. If you're looking for a blinding, in your face highlighter, this isn't the one for you. But if you're looking for an everyday glow I couldn't recommend a better highlighter. I find myself always grabbing for this one when I'm heading to class and want a subtle healthy glow. 

And for the price you pay for this product, you'd expect it to last all day long. And let me tell you, The Balm ensures that is the case with this highlighter. If you want a healthy all day glow, add this to your collection. And since it is pigmented, you really don't need a lot of product meaning it lasts ages in the actual pan. 

Overall, I would rate this a 10/10. I know it's not everyone's cup of tea since it doesn't blind you at first glance, yet I feel it is an essential for every day makeup. I can see myself repurchasing this product till the end, so I definitely recommend it to a friend. Have you ever tried this product? If so let me know in the comments,

Izzy K xxx

Saturday, 7 October 2017

Makeup Revolution Brow Revolution

Whenever I see a new type of eyebrow product, I must try it straight away. That's why when I saw the Makeup Revolution Brow Revolution kit, I immediately needed to give it a go. I picked this bad boy up from Superdrug for £6






Brow Revolution in "Medium Brown"

This kit is available in 5 shades, blonde, soft brown, auburn, medium brown and dark brunette. Inside the kit you get a brow gel and a brow spoolie brush. Personally I would have preferred a brow brush included in this kit, because I find the spoolie almost smudges out the product. 

Application of this brow product is seriously easy. The lid of the gel has a little brush applicator. I paint through my brows lightly, dispersing product into them. Then I paint in the shape of the eyebrow using an angled eyebrow brush. Although once dried this product doesn't smudge or run (and is waterproof) there is still enough time to paint the gel into the shape you desire. It is also a buildable product, allowing you to lightly paint the inner corners of the eyebrows, and darken the outside.

The shade medium brown is the perfect match to my natural brows. And it really does last all day long. Honestly, unless you purposely remove it at the end of the day, this brow gel will not fade at all.

Lately this really has been my go to eyebrow product just because it is so easy to use. I would give this kit a 9/10 and will definitely be repurchasing it. Have you ever tried this product before? If so let me know in the comments,

Izzy K xxx

Thursday, 21 September 2017

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick

Kat Von D is a makeup brand which is truly renowned for its all day lasting power. I was after an everyday lipstick that would last for ages without me needing to top it up. That's why I was intrigued to try the Everlasting Liquid Lipstick for £17. Since I was after a natural colour, I picked up the shade "Ludwig".





Cringe selfie but this is the shade when it's on!

The first thing I have to say about this lipstick is that it applies really well. You only need one layer for the colour to be bold, and you can honestly apply it in one stroke. I also find the applicator the perfect size to be able apply enough at once, yet still be precise to your lip shape.

Lipstick taste is something that is always vital for me. If something tastes off, I never want it anywhere near my lips. Luckily, this one doesn't have a weird taste at all, in fact it doesn't really taste of anything!

And now for the colour. Ludwig is for me is the PERFECT nude shade. It's just the right mixture between beige, brown and a hint of pink. It's honestly the ideal "your lips but better" shade. For ages, my favourite lipstick was Velvet Teddy by Mac, and this is the cruelty free alternative to that shade.

And last but not least I have to talk about the lasting power. Yes, you guessed it, this Kat Von D product does not budge. Like at all! It survives, eating, drinking, talking... it just survives the lot ok?! The only thing I will say is that this lipstick isn't really buildable, and it can be quite drying after a while. 

Overall, I'm so glad I tried this lipstick and I will definitely be picking up more. I would rate this lipstick a 8.5/10. Have you ever tried any of these lipsticks before? If so what shades would you recommend?

Izzy K xxx

Sunday, 10 September 2017

Pixi Makeup Fixing Mist

Pixi pixi pixi... oh how you have stolen my heart. Recently I did a little Pixi haul and I'm obsessed with trying new things from this brand. So #sorrynotsorry but I'm reviewing yet another product from this heavenly brand. 




This week I've decided to share my thoughts the Pixi Makeup Fixing Mist. This beauty retails for £16, so as far as fixing sprays go, it's definitely on the more pricey side. But is it worth it?

This particular mist is infused with rose water and green tea in order to "protect and balance skin for a fresh face". I can tell you first hand, this product is definitely a refreshing touch to your face. Especially if you're like me and are always tired in the morning when applying your makeup and need a little waking up. 

The instructions of this product are to apply after your makeup to set it. And it also advises to hold 15cm away from your face before spraying. I would definitely recommend this tip too, along with the fact that A LITTLE GOES A VERY LONG WAY with this spray. I remember the first time I used this product it was actually a #fail on my behalf. I assumed I'd need a lot of the product in order to properly set my makeup. I well and truly soaked my face, which meant my makeup ran all down my face... and then set. But ever since spraying only a little bit on my face, I never had that trouble again and the mist has been rather successful. 

But from that experience I can tell you that once this is sprayed on your face, your makeup does not budge. From what I can see, it mattifies your face, taking away shine and stickiness that your foundation might leave you. But the amazing thing is that it doesn't leave your face feeling dry at all, in fact it's rather hydrating. And I can't even tell you how good this product smells!

As far as results go, this definitely keeps your makeup on for a fair while. Since this is the first makeup fixing spray I've ever tried, I personally have nothing else to compare it to. But I've read reviews saying that people have tried other brands that are cheaper, but have given longer lasting results. 

But for me, the "WOW" factor is really all about the finish it gives your makeup. I honestly can't complete my makeup look without this now, because it just feels wrong not to. It well and truly sets your face, and the best part is, you only need a little bit to finish the look.

Overall I am very happy with this product. I think I may still try other fixing sprays, just to see how they compare. But I have already repurchased it, so you know I think it's worth the money. I would rate this product a 8/10, and have already been recommending it to people. Have you ever tried this product? If so let me know in the comments,

Izzy K xxx

Saturday, 22 July 2017

Pixi Bronzer

Pixi, Pixi Pixi... oh how you are slowly becoming my favourite brand. 

Since it's Summer, but I spend most of my life in my room on my laptop, I still want to achieve that "Bronzed Goddess" look. That's why, when I saw that Pixi, a brand I'm very impressed with, has a lovely, glowy powdered bronzer out, I knew I needed to try it.






I brought their Bronzer & Kabuki Brush for £18 from Marks&Spencer's. It is available in 2 different colours, Subtly Suntouched and Summertime

The first thing I want to say about this product is that the colour pay-off is actually incredible. You only need to dip the brush in lightly, and then start powdering your face for a really natural looking bronze glow. The colour is definitely on the warm-toned side, but it is buildable so it can create a natural look on any skin tone.

And my favourite thing about this bronzer is that it contains tiny amounts of shimmer. Not in a "I'm glowing like Edward from Twilight" sort of way. More like an "Oh look at how sunkissed I am" sort of way. It's the perfect amount of sparkle for you to look glowy this summer, without looking like a disco ball.

The brush itself is also a really handy tool. I'm really impressed with the quality of the brush, since it is super soft and really does the job for bronzer. The only thing I will say is that it is on the slighlty smaller side, especially the handle of it. But this does make it ideal for traveling. 

And I'm a huge sucker for pastel colours, so I adore the fact that the packaging is in a pastel green colour. Also little life hack with the packaging: it's a screw on lid, not a click into place lid. But this is perfect again if you would like to take it travelling because it won't pop off in your suitcase.

Overall, I would rate this little set a 9/10 and I would definitely class it as a Summer essential. I hope you enjoyed reading this review, what is your Summer essential?

Izzy K xxx

Friday, 14 July 2017

Collection Sheer Loose Powder

You know that whole craze all the beauty gurus keep going on about which is baking? Well I tried to hop onto that bandwagon, but in order to do that I needed to pick up a loose powder. Since The Collection Sheer Loose Powder was only £2.99 from Superdrug, it seemed like a no-brainer to at least give it a go!




I picked up the shade "Translucent" and that's definitely how I would describe this shade. It leaves absolutely no colour on your face once it's applied, which is definitely a bonus because it suits any skin shade. 

And another thing I will say about this product is that it smells really good. I'm not really sure what it smells of (it's definitely perfumed though) but it smells amazing when you apply it.

The application process of this powder is, in theory, quite an easy one. You give it a lil shake and small amounts of the powder fall into the top compartment, making it easy to dip your brush in just a small amount of powder. However, I find it difficult to transfer this powder directly from the brush to your face. The fall out with this product is insane, and I do feel like I'm wasting a large portion of this product with each application because it just falls down my T-shirt.

The lasting power of this product is also pretty good, for it's price. I mean it keeps your makeup in place and set all day. And it gets rid of any oily areas for a matte looking finish. he only thing I did notice with this powder is that it caused a tiny bit of creasing, especially under the eyes. 

Overall I would rate this product a 6/10. I mean, for it's price you really can't complain that much. However, I'm in no hurry to repurchase it because I'm sure there are better loose powders out on the market. Have you ever tried this product before? If so what did you think of it?

Izzy K xxx